Undergraduate Majors Selected for Field Camp Scholarships and Research Award

Written by Lauren Neitzke Adamo

Undergraduate Majors, Casey Collins, Emma Hinds, Chase Danyi, Ryan McCracken, and Journey BerryUndergraduate Majors, Casey Collins, Emma Hinds, Chase Danyi, Ryan McCracken, and Journey Berry were all awarded scholarships from the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences and the Steven K. Fox Fund to attend geology field camp during the 2022/2023 academic year.  These students will be attending a wide range of field camps at unique geologic sites across the country.  They will all participate in 4-8 weeks experiences giving them hands-on experience in how to navigate and map the field.  Congratulations to all the 2022 recipients. Jonathan Miller

Congratulations to Jonathan Miller, the 2022 recipient of the William & Grace Sparks Field Camp Award.  This $1,500 scholarship is given to a major in Earth and Planetary Sciences to help offset the cost of attending an external field camp.  Jonathan will be using the funds to attend field camp in Scotland this June and July through the University of St. Andrews. 

Michael PinnellaMichael Pinnella was named the awardee of the 2022 Larry & Norma Gordon Scholarship for Undergraduate Field Study in Geological Sciences. This award includes a $1,500 scholarship to help offset the cost of attending a summer field camp.  Michael will be traveling to Wyoming from mid-May until early July with Iowa State to Carl F. Vondra Geology Field Station.  Located in the Big Horn Mountains and Basin, this permanent field station will provide an intensive geologic mapping experience for Micheal.  Best of luck and have a great time!

Lakshman Prabhakar, a junior major in Earth and Planetary Sciences, was awarded the George O. Scott Scholarship for Undergraduate Field Study in Geological Sciences.  This is the highest award the departmentLakshman Prabhakar grants to majors to help attend an external field camp.  Lakshman was selected for this award based on his high overall academic achievement, excellent course work within the major, and faculty recommendations.  This award comes with a $1,500 scholarship, which Lakshman will be using to attend field camp during the winter of 2022/2023.  Congratulations Lakshman and keep up the good work!

IMG 8849Jason Kawalec, a junior in the Planetary Sciences Major Track, has been selected as the winner of the 2022 Vinton Gwinn Award for Excellence in Research.  This award is given to an undergraduate major in their 3rd or 4th year of their studies who has participated and excelled in independent research.  In addition to the academic excellence he has exhibited in all of his course work, Jason has worked on 3 different independent study projects over the last 2 years.  He has previously conducted research on creating 3D models of geologic outcrops and samples under the supervision of Dr. Lauren Neitzke Adamo, and on analyzing albedo trends in Martian surface features in satellite data with Dr. Luju Ohja.  Jason will be traveling to Costa Rica this summer to conduct drone surveys on several dormant volcanoes to create high-resolution 3D lava flow and potential risk maps.  Great job Jason and good luck inDiana D'Albero and Jessie Friedman Costa Rica!

Seniors, Diana D’Albero and Jessie Friedman, were both awarded the George H. Cook Awards for Department Service.  This award is given to advanced students who have gone above and beyond in their service to the department.  Diana and Jessie were both instrumental in keeping the undergraduate geology club going over the last year or so, an especially impressive feat during the times of Covid.  They are commended for their dedication to always promoting geology at Rutgers and for helping out whenever needed.  The department will miss them next year after they graduate, but we wish them all the best in their next adventure.